This site uses cookies.
Some of these cookies are essential to the operation of the site,
while others help to improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.
For more information, please see the ProZ.com privacy policy.
VIA AILooking for an interpreter?
Remoto by ProZ.com connects you with an identity-verified interpreter by video or phone in about 60 seconds — 300+ languages, on demand or booked ahead.
Try Remoto »
dokupartner: Is it safe to accept an offer from them?
Автор темы: Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen Дания Local time: 20:45 Член ProZ.com c 2010 английский => норвежский (букмол) + ...
09:34
I have received a job offer from the agency dokupartner (http://www.dokupartner.de) for a 22,000 word manual, but I don't find them registered on ProZ, and no entres on Blue Board. Is there anyone who has been in touch with them and know if they are a serious agency or if this may be a case of fraud?
Their contact person is Cristina Schmidt.
[Edited at 2026-10-01 09:35 GMT]
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Lieven Malaise Бельгия Local time: 20:45 Член ProZ.com c 2020 французский => голландский + ...
Depends
09:43
The website "www.dokupartner.de" seems to be legit. But there's also "www.dokupartner.online" and that's probably a scam website, at least according to Gemini.
What email address did they use?
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Roy Oestensen Дания Local time: 20:45 Член ProZ.com c 2010 английский => норвежский (букмол) + ...
Автор темы
email seems legit
09:54
Büro Nord
Büro Süd
Christoph-Probst-Weg 4
Föhrenweg 19
20251 Hamburg
91785 Pleinfeld
A 22,000-word project as your first job for an agency you’ve never worked with before? It really does sound like a scam. I did a search using the name of your contact and the agency’s name, and it came up with zero answers. If I were you, I’d send an email to the agency asking if ‘she’ actually works there…
And yet
Website: OK
Address: OK
Telephone: OK
Email: OK
Maybe it's legit...
[Edited at 2026-10-01 11:18 GMT]
expressisverbis
Thayenga
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Roy Oestensen Дания Local time: 20:45 Член ProZ.com c 2010 английский => норвежский (букмол) + ...
Автор темы
Thanks
11:25
Thank you for the suggestion.
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Thayenga Германия Local time: 20:45 Член ProZ.com c 2009 английский => немецкий + ...
Always check
12:44
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida wrote:
If I were you, I’d send an email to the agency asking if ‘she’ actually works there…
[Edited at 2026-10-01 11:18 GMT]
When you're in doubt, just follow 'Teresa's advice. This is what I have been doing when in doubt. Sometimes the person does work there, sometime s/he doesn't. Better safe than sorry.
Roy Oestensen
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Gregor Trebec Словения Local time: 20:45 английский => словенский + ...
when in doubt, C4
16:57
It looks legit. She is using company's email. BUT 20.000 words as first assignement sounds realy strange, if not desperate.
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Joakim Braun Швеция Local time: 20:45 немецкий => шведский + ...
Phone
18:15
The old-fashioned way to confirm someone's identity is to phone them via the company switchboard or a phone number provided on the company's website (NOT whatever is given in the e-mail).
The company can still turn out to be a non-payer, but a lot of obvious scams are filtered out.
And look up the company financials - they will be published somewhere.
I'd definitely do both if 22,000 words from a new client are involved.
Daryo
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Edit Translations Faster With Affordable AI You Can Trust
Draftsmith is an affordable AI editing tool for busy translators. It works directly in Microsoft Word, supporting the way you work
ProZ members receive a 20% discount on a single user subscription of Draftsmith.
Manage your TMs and Terms ... and boost your translation business
Are you ready for something fresh in the industry? TM-Town is a unique new site for you -- the freelance translator -- to store, manage and share translation memories (TMs) and glossaries...and potentially meet new clients on the basis of your prior work.