Thread poster: Jianjun Zhang
Jianjun Zhang
Jianjun Zhang  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:25
English to Chinese
+ ...
Oct 22, 2004

What is the situation in Europe and America? I have been doing English-Chinese translation work for 12 years within China. I want to expand my freelancing business to international especially European and American market. But I know nothing about the situation there. Would anyone help me and offer some information? Thanks.

Syeda Tanbira Zaman
Syeda Tanbira Zaman
Local time: 17:55
English to Assamese
+ ...
Very very good. Oct 23, 2004

Jianjun Zhang wrote:

What is the situation in Europe and America? I have been doing English-Chinese translation work for 12 years within China. I want to expand my freelancing business to international especially European and American market. But I know nothing about the situation there. Would anyone help me and offer some information? Thanks.

Ni Hao,

From all the indicators and the recent world bank report, it is clear that this is going to be the most lucrative pair ever. It is pity that I do not know Chinese.

Alison Schwitzgebel
Alison Schwitzgebel
France
Local time: 14:25
German to English
+ ...
No personal experience, but.... Oct 23, 2004

I don't have any personal experience in this market, but there was a huge report in the FAZ (leading German newspaper) this morning about the booming Chinese economy and all the companies wanting to get some of the action.

Not to mention the ban on textile imports that is being fully lifted in the coming years. I imagine that demand for translations in all languages from and into Chinese will be huge.

FWIW

Alison

Huicheng (X)
Huicheng (X)
English to Chinese
+ ...
There is an increasing demand for English-Chinese translation Oct 23, 2004

I have been translating for 20 years in China. To my knowledge, the demand for competent translators is growing.

Jianjun Zhang
Jianjun Zhang  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:25