Target file showing tracked changes (i.e. both old and new text)
Thread poster: Hayley Wakenshaw
Hayley Wakenshaw
Hayley Wakenshaw  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:52
Member (2018)
Dutch to English
Sep 1, 2021

I'm new to reviewing in Studio AND to working on srt files, so I'm sure I must have ticked or not ticked a box somewhere (the cause of 99% of my problems in Trados!)

I'm reviewing a translated srt file in Studio 2021. I'm using tracked changes. When I save the target file, when displayed in MS Notepad, the resulting file seems to show what the segment would look like if you selected 'Show markup'. In other words, both the old text and the new in changed segments is included, like th
... See more
I'm new to reviewing in Studio AND to working on srt files, so I'm sure I must have ticked or not ticked a box somewhere (the cause of 99% of my problems in Trados!)

I'm reviewing a translated srt file in Studio 2021. I'm using tracked changes. When I save the target file, when displayed in MS Notepad, the resulting file seems to show what the segment would look like if you selected 'Show markup'. In other words, both the old text and the new in changed segments is included, like this:

Some cars almostnearly run into youyou over.

That the cars wouldspeed limit for cars was made lowerhave a lower speed limit.

How do I get the target srt file to only show the new, changed version of the segment without the old bits left in?

Edited to add: If I export the file for bilingual review, the target segments are displayed correctly with just the new version of the text in the .docx file.

[Edited at 2021-09-01 15:09 GMT]
Collapse

Ramona Böddeker
Ramona Böddeker  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 14:52
French to German
+ ...
Accept Changes before saving target file Sep 2, 2021

Hi Hayley,

I just checked the settings of the .srt file type. Unfortunately, there is no box to tick regarding the export of tracked changes.