Léa Meignien (X)
Léa Meignien (X)
France
Local time: 22:52
French
+ ...
Nov 17, 2018

Hello everyone,

I'm a French translation student, residing in France, and I'm occasionally looking for opportunities to work.
I have been contacted by a company to translate two documents, and I feel ready to undertake this job.
But I am wondering how can I create a bill as I'm not registered as self-employed? Can I make this one job without being registered? (which would be great honestly) How should I create my bill?

I am a total newbie here. Thank you in
... See more
Hello everyone,

I'm a French translation student, residing in France, and I'm occasionally looking for opportunities to work.
I have been contacted by a company to translate two documents, and I feel ready to undertake this job.
But I am wondering how can I create a bill as I'm not registered as self-employed? Can I make this one job without being registered? (which would be great honestly) How should I create my bill?

I am a total newbie here. Thank you in advance for any help provided.

(I realise I probably should have posted in the Getting established topic, sorry)

[Edited at 2018-11-17 08:31 GMT]
Collapse

Fiona Grace Peterson
Fiona Grace Peterson  Identity Verified
Italy
Italian to English
French tax legislation Nov 19, 2018

Your best bet would be to contact an accountant or someone who can advise you what to do based on French tax legislation. Here in Italy, someone who earns less than 5000 Euros per year does not need to have a VAT number and can issue what's known as a "ricevuta per prestazione occasionale". But I don't know what the situation is in France.

Best of luck!

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida

Mariane Lambert
Mariane Lambert  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2014)
English to French
+ ...
registration is a must Nov 20, 2018

Hi Léa,