Cecile Arbus
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:20
Member (2021)
English to French
+ ...
Oct 10, 2019

Hi everyone,

I am new to the translation industry and currently mainly working on a Mac laptop, which has been fine so far. However I'm considering investing in a desktop computer for all the obvious reasons. I have a few questions and would love to hear people's views on the following please:
- Should I move to a PC and Windows system, which is what I'm considering, or stay with Mac?
- Does a Mac work with SDL trados and other similar CAT tools or is it better to get a
... See more
Hi everyone,

I am new to the translation industry and currently mainly working on a Mac laptop, which has been fine so far. However I'm considering investing in a desktop computer for all the obvious reasons. I have a few questions and would love to hear people's views on the following please:
- Should I move to a PC and Windows system, which is what I'm considering, or stay with Mac?
- Does a Mac work with SDL trados and other similar CAT tools or is it better to get a PC?
- How much memory (RAM) should I consider - I'm thinking 2x8GB to future proof as much as possible.
- Any other key technical criteria to consider?

Thank you for any advice!
Cecile
Collapse

Tony M
Tony M
France
Local time: 18:20
French to English
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
A few considerations... Oct 10, 2019

Always having worked on Mac myself, when I started in translation (a long time ago!), I found myself constrained to going over to PC for at least one reason that seemed to me insurmountable: although MS Word on Mac is supposed to be compatible with Word on the PC, I frequently encountered incompatibility issues between customer files created on PC and the ones I sent back from Mac. This problem may well have been cured in more recent issues!

In addition, whether Mac or PC, I
... See more