Thread poster: MK2010
MK2010
MK2010  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:18
French to English
+ ...
Sep 1, 2020

I'm being asked to supply this to a client in Europe so they can prove to their tax authorities that I pay my taxes in the U.S. Problem is: it's 85 bucks per year, and you have to fill out a tax form and send it to the authorities and wait for them to send you back an official letter stating that you do in fact pay your taxes in the U.S.

In all my 10 years as a freelance translator, I have never had to do this. I've had to provide some sort of proof before, of course, which is norm
... See more
I'm being asked to supply this to a client in Europe so they can prove to their tax authorities that I pay my taxes in the U.S. Problem is: it's 85 bucks per year, and you have to fill out a tax form and send it to the authorities and wait for them to send you back an official letter stating that you do in fact pay your taxes in the U.S.

In all my 10 years as a freelance translator, I have never had to do this. I've had to provide some sort of proof before, of course, which is normal when working with international clients, but this seems a little extreme.

Anyone else ever had this experience, whether in the U.S. or in another non-EU country? In the U.S., it's IRS form 8802. Just reading the instructions takes time, which only makes the whole thing more irritating. And since this is a new client, I can't even be sure that the volume of work will be worth this ***yearly*** investment!

[Edited at 2020-09-01 20:42 GMT]
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 20:18
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@MK Sep 1, 2020

MK2010 wrote:
I'm being asked to supply a fiscal residency certification to a client in Europe so they can prove to their tax authorities that I pay my taxes in the United States.